top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Chu

Lauren Dines, Summer Analyst at Morgan Stanley

Updated: Sep 11, 2020


This week’s Women in Business Spotlight features Lauren Dines, Summer Analyst at Morgan Stanley and recent graduate of Wellesley College. Instead of taking a conventional path by studying economics, Lauren aspired to learn more about her heritage in Wellesley’s Africana Studies department. Having been exposed to financial services by her father, she also adopted similar talents, landing a spot in Morgan Stanley’s Freshman Enhancement Program. It is through this program where Lauren developed her network at Morgan Stanley, where she interned as a Summer Analyst for the rest of her undergraduate experience. Lauren’s interests currently reside in venture capital and private equity, and is currently looking for full-time opportunities in these industries.


Read more about our conversation on Lauren’s pivot into venture capital and private equity, the effect of the Black Lives Matter movement on corporate America, and authenticity in the recruitment process.

June 18, 2020, 11 am EDT

Written by Sarah Chu


Venture Capital

SC: What sparked your newfound interest in venture capital?

LD: I am interested in finding a job that intersects between my passion for improving diversity with tangible impact that I can make. Venture capital gives me the ability to invest in boards with people of color, an area that needs improvement across all industries. This is something that I hope to do in my career.

Black Lives Matter

SC: Many firms express support in the Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement, yet fail to follow through on their statements. What are some actionable steps that firms can take to put words into action?

LD: One that comes to mind is ending prison labor. Walmart, Whole Foods, Victoria’s Secret, and so forth, have contracts with correctional facilities that use prison labor; in return, inmates get a few cents per hour. The prison industrial complex is a cycle: there’s labor that’s needed, and at some point, we need to break the cycle. If you support the BLM movement, firms need to take the actionable steps that will improve the livelihoods within black communities.

SC: Your point ties into my most recent article about prison labor! Do you have any other thoughts on this issue?

LD: From a company perspective, anti-racist training is so important. Creating a culture where black employees feel comfortable cultivates genuine conversations about race and identity in the workplace. It’s not just black employees, either. Other groups, like women and the LGBTQIA+ community, need the same level of thought and care when thinking about incorporating them into the conversation. These points can manifest in several different ways and are firm-specific, but I think this is a great starting point.

Authenticity in the Recruitment Process

SC: Your background is so interesting as you come from a non-traditional finance background. Speaking on personal experience, I found myself having a hard time finding an internship, even as an economic major! How did you navigate the recruitment process?

LD: Your narrative is one of the most important aspects of the recruitment process. For me, I fully brought my enthusiasm for Africana studies in my interviews, and it showed. It’s important not to fake your interests ⁠— employers see right through it. Know your story, your value-added, and how you can positively contribute to the firm.

SC: I completely agree, I found that once I recognized my value-added and discovered my passions, the recruitment process felt much easier.

LD: Absolutely! Staying true to myself was key during recruitment. Whether it be pursuing venture capital, private equity, or becoming a mentor later in my career, understanding who I am is an ever-evolving process. I’m excited to see what the future looks like for me.

SC: Me too! Your future is bright, and I can’t wait to see what you do next.

290 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page